My visit to Xanadu of India, Kashmir – Part 1

Hello ! 

As you know by now, I was in Kashmir with my better half. Travel is one of the best parts of my job. I am insatiably curious and love exploring wherever I go…I love the fancy stuff as much as the casual stuff and want to see it all: the touristy stuff, the hot spots and the off-the-beaten-path stuff. This was my first visit to Kashmir and I was super duper happy for this vacay as I had already heard a lot about how beautiful Kashmir is ! We visited Srinagar, Pahalgam and Gulmarg, we couldn’t visit Sonmarg as the roads were closed due to heavy snowfall and security reasons.I am so excited to share my experience with you guys and here’s presenting Day 1.


DAY 1: My day began really early as I had morning flight from Delhi to Srinagar.I landed in Srinagar around 8:30 am, hopped into the cab which was waiting for us at airport. We headed straight to the houseboat which was at Dal Lake and had delicious breakfast.I loved everything about the houseboat from the intricate wooden carving to traditional interior to generous staffs and houseboat’s owner Hashim.

Loved intricate wooden carving.


We rested for an hour or two and got ready to explore beautiful Srinagar. We took Shikara to reach other side where our cab was waiting. We visited Shankaracharya Temple, Nigeen Lake, Shalimar Bagh, Nishat Bagh, Hazratbal Dargah Sharif and Chashme Shahi, unfortunately we were not able to visit Tulip Garden as it was close during those days. I wore this flat knit rib shrug and underneath it, I wore embellished knitted long midi dress and black stockings. I paired it with ankle length black sneakers.




View of lake from Shankaracharya Temple



Had this yummy chocolate strawberry falooda in front of Nishat Bagh, highly recommended.

With these playful cute Kashmiri kids.




We were back to our houseboat around 4 pm, relaxed for few hours and got ready for the Shikara ride. We visited floating market, Meena bazar and shopped few handicraft items. Since evening was chilly, I wore this two-tone knitted stole, oversized jaspe sweater, aztec printed leggings and completed the look by adding my rust suede boots.




Since it was the dusk time, there was something so magical simply about being in nature and living the moment. We stopped by in between to take some pictures and we were in no hurry. There was nothing in the middle of lake except a snacks shop on a floating giant boat. We ate some lip smacking snacks, pakodas and enjoyed to our fullest. 


The day came to an end but our energy didn’t. It was pitch dark by then and we were enjoying Shikara ride looking up in the sky. We reached around 8:30 pm and headed straight to have dinner. As we reached to the local market by 9 pm, almost every shop and restaurant was closed. Finally, we found a restaurant “Lhasa” (recommended by many of my friends & Kashmiris over there) which was also about to shut. We got food packed as that was closing time, reached our houseboat and enjoyed lake side dinner.

Hope you guys liked the post and will be back soon with rest of the blogs. Stay tuned !

XOXO 😊

Leave a Reply

